Comparison

The 8 best AI phone agents for Germany in 2026, compared

Anyone looking for an AI phone agent finds plenty of lists and few verified numbers. Here are eight providers for the German-speaking market side by side, with prices, trials, hosting and who each one suits. Every statement about another provider comes from that provider's own website.

By Felix Reuter, founder of elunos.ai · Last checked on 18 September 2026 · elunos.ai is our own product

Key takeaways

  • An AI phone agent answers calls around the clock, answers questions, books appointments and hands over to staff when a person is needed.
  • The biggest difference is billing: elunos.ai, Fonio and Placetel bill per minute, VITAS per conversation, IONOS per call. A monthly price on its own says little.
  • The cheapest paid plans on monthly billing: IONOS €39 including VAT, VITAS €49, Placetel €79 plus €9 for the phone number, elunos.ai €119 and Fonio €119.
  • On this list we found a permanently free plan at no provider. Time-limited trials exist at VITAS (30 days), IONOS (1 month) and Placetel (10 days); elunos.ai and Fonio offer a 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • A location in Germany is stated by elunos.ai (Frankfurt), Fonio (Nuremberg), VITAS and Doctolib (Germany and France). IONOS states the EU, Synthflow a selectable EU cluster, Placetel and Parloa state no location.
  • Parloa and Synthflow address large contact centres, with Synthflow starting at $30,000 a year. The Doctolib assistant is only available inside the Doctolib package.
01

All providers at a glance

Price, entry, hosting and fit in one table. Click a name to jump to the profile.

ProviderPrice fromTrialHostingBest for
1. elunos.aiStarter €119 / month, €99 annually, incl. 1,000 min.30-day money-back guarantee, no free planFrankfurt, GermanyPractices, law firms, trades and SMEs that want to start in live operation right away and integrate deeply
2. Fonio€119 / month, €99 annually, incl. 1,000 min. (net)Free to try without a credit card, 30-day money-back guaranteeNuremberg, company based in ViennaBusinesses with predictable call volume looking for a low price per minute
3. VITAS€49 / month, €40 annually, plus €0.28 per conversation (net)30-day trial with 500 conversations, no payment detailsGermany, by its own account without US third partiesPractices, medical centres and clinics for whom certifications and German infrastructure are decisive
4. Placetel AI€79 / month, €69 on a 24-month term, incl. 750 min., plus €9 phone number10-day trial with 50 free minutes, no payment detailsLocation not publishedTeams with high call volume and many simultaneous conversations
5. IONOS€39 / month incl. 30 calls (incl. VAT)1 month free trial, then cancel monthlyEU, location not specified furtherVery small businesses and the self-employed with few calls and simple needs
6. Doctolib (Aaron.ai)€229 / month per practitioner in the package, €139 without the assistant (incl. VAT, annual)No self-service trial, consultation callGermany and FranceMedical and therapy practices that already use Doctolib or plan to
7. Parloanot published, demo on requestNo, demoLocation not publishedEnterprises with their own contact centre and a project budget
8. SynthflowEnterprise from $30,000 a yearNo, demoEU cluster selectableCall centres, BPOs and large outbound projects

All statements about other providers come from their own public pages, read on 18 September 2026. Prices appear the way each provider states them: Fonio and VITAS net, IONOS and Doctolib including VAT, Placetel without saying which. They are therefore not directly comparable. “Not published” means the page said nothing about it, not that the feature is missing.

02

The providers in detail

Every profile follows the same grid. Each one also says what that provider is genuinely good at, because not every business is best served by us.

1Our product

elunos.ai: AI phone agent with a money-back guarantee and hosting in Frankfurt

elunos.ai is our own product, which is why it is listed first, and why we say so. The AI phone agent answers calls around the clock, answers questions from your knowledge base, books appointments straight into your calendar or industry software and hands over to staff when a person is needed. The agent is built in a visual editor, without code.

Three things set elunos.ai apart from most providers on this list. First, the way in: no free plan, but every plan starts in live operation right away with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Second, depth of integration: 73 integrations, including practice, law firm and trades software, plus n8n, Make and Zapier. Third, templates: 22 industries start from a finished call flow instead of a blank page.

Hosting is in Frankfurt, Germany. The minutes of a plan count on every channel, on the phone, in the web widget and on WhatsApp, so there are no separate minute budgets per channel.

Price
Starter €119 a month (€99 annually) incl. 1,000 minutes. Core €359 (€299 annually) incl. 3,600 minutes and 3 concurrent calls. Professional from €719 (from €599 annually) incl. 7,500 minutes. One channel is included, every further one costs €39 a month. Every plan is public on the pricing page.
Trial
No free plan. Every plan starts paid in live operation, and within 30 days you get the full amount back on request. Plans run for at least one year.
Data protection
GDPR-compliant, hosted in Frankfurt, built with the EU AI Act in mind, DPA available online.
Features
Call answering around the clock, appointment booking, transfer with a summary, outbound calls from Core, web widget and WhatsApp as further channels, reports.
Integrations
73 integrations, plus n8n, Make and Zapier as well as webhooks and a REST API.
Setup
Self-service in a visual editor, no code. 22 industry templates.

Strength: The start without risk: live operation from day one, money back within 30 days, data stays in Frankfurt.

Best for: Practices, law firms, trades and SMEs that want to start in live operation right away and integrate deeply

2

Fonio: transparent minute bundles and a fast self-service start

Fonio is made by fonio GmbH in Vienna and calls itself the AI phone assistant in German. It is open to all industries, with pages from medical practices to property management, and states more than 10,000 customers. According to its FAQ the servers are in Nuremberg.

The price list is public and clear: Solo is €119 a month, €99 when paid annually, and includes 1,000 minutes. Team is €359 or €299 with 3,600 minutes and three concurrent calls. Solo handles one call at a time, and outbound calls and SIP trunking start with Team. The WhatsApp chatbot is priced separately.

Price
Solo €119 a month (€99 annually) incl. 1,000 minutes. Team €359 (€299 annually) incl. 3,600 minutes. Scale from €599. Extra minutes on Solo: €15 per 100 minutes. Prices are net.
Trial
Free to try without a credit card; the length is not published. Plus a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Data protection
States GDPR and EU AI Act compliance. Servers in Nuremberg. The subprocessors are listed publicly in the DPA.
Features
Call answering around the clock, appointment booking, live transfer, transcript by email, more than 120 voices and more than 60 languages. Outbound calls from Team.
Integrations
Dedicated pages for Cal.com, Calendly, eTermin, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, n8n, Odoo and Slack among others, plus API and webhooks. Fonio does not state a total.
Setup
Self-service, no code. Fonio says the assistant is ready to test in 30 seconds. Assisted setup costs extra.

Strength: A price list that leaves no question open, and unlimited users on the mid tier.

Best for: Businesses with predictable call volume looking for a low price per minute

Sources: fonio.ai/de/, fonio.ai/de/preise, fonio.ai/de/avv, fonio.ai/de/setups, fonio.ai/de/impressum

3

VITAS: phone assistant for healthcare with a strong security profile

VITAS GmbH from Nuremberg describes its product as AI call answering for practices, medical centres and clinics. Its FAQ says it was developed mainly for healthcare, with other industries possible. There are ready-made scenarios for appointments, repeat prescriptions, referrals and sick notes.

Billing is per conversation rather than per minute: FLEX is €49 a month plus €0.28 per conversation, BASIC €119 with 500 conversations, PLUS €299 with 1,500. Paid annually the prices drop to €40, €98 and €245. Worth knowing when you do the sums: integrations with partner systems, SIP trunking and direct transfer belong to the Pro package, which cost an extra €99 a month on the day we checked.

Price
FLEX €49 (€40 annually) plus €0.28 per conversation. BASIC €119 (€98) incl. 500 conversations. PLUS €299 (€245) incl. 1,500, then €0.25 each. Pro package for integrations, SIP trunking and transfer: €99 a month on offer. Prices are net.
Trial
30 days with 500 test conversations, no payment details. The trial ends on its own.
Data protection
“Made & Hosted in Germany”, processing in Germany only by its own account. ISO 27001 audited by TÜV Süd, BSI C5 type 1. Nothing published on the EU AI Act.
Features
Call answering with structured intake, calls as tickets with transcript, SMS and automated callbacks, hundreds of parallel calls according to VITAS. Further languages as an add-on for €99 a month.
Integrations
13 named partners, including medatixx, tomedo, samedi, cituro, docmedico, 321 MED and dubidoc, plus webhooks. Available with the Pro package.
Setup
Self-service in a no-code builder, about 60 minutes according to VITAS. Standard onboarding is free.

Strength: The strongest published security profile on this list: ISO 27001 with a TÜV audit, BSI C5 and processing in Germany only.

Best for: Practices, medical centres and clinics for whom certifications and German infrastructure are decisive

Sources: telefonassistent.de/, telefonassistent.de/preise, telefonassistent.de/sicherheit, telefonassistent.de/partnerschaften, telefonassistent.de/produkt, telefonassistent.de/agb

4

Placetel AI: AI assistant from a phone system provider, strong at high volume

Placetel belongs to Gamma Placetel GmbH in Cologne, has been on the market since 2007 and states more than 40,000 business customers for its cloud telephony. Placetel AI is the AI assistant that goes with it, for phone, WhatsApp and live chat. Placetel says it works with all common phone systems, not only its own.

The plans are minute bundles: Grow is €79 on a monthly contract with 750 minutes, Professional €149 with 1,500 minutes, Enterprise €399 with 4,000 minutes. On a 24-month term they are €69, €129 and €359. An AI phone number for €9 a month is required on top in every case. All plans allow unlimited parallel calls, assistants and users.

Price
Grow €79 (€69 on 24 months) incl. 750 minutes. Professional €149 (€129) incl. 1,500. Enterprise €399 (€359) incl. 4,000. Required: AI phone number for €9 a month. Minute prices from €0.13 depending on the bundle. The page does not say whether prices are net or gross.
Trial
10 days free with 50 minutes, no payment details. After that monthly or a 24-month term.
Data protection
States GDPR and EU AI Act compliance, ISO 27001 data centres, developed in Cologne. Where the data centres are is not published.
Features
Unlimited parallel calls, 8 preconfigured assistants, more than 25 voices and more than 80 languages, appointment booking, warm transfer with a summary. Outbound calls from Professional.
Integrations
More than 2,500 integrations via make.com and n8n by its own account. Named directly: Google, Outlook, Calendly, Cal.com, HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive, Zoho, Zendesk and DATEV.
Setup
Self-service, no programming. Placetel says the first assistant is up in 10 minutes.

Strength: Concurrency at no extra cost: unlimited parallel calls, assistants and users on every plan, from an established telephony provider.

Best for: Teams with high call volume and many simultaneous conversations

Sources: placetel.de/placetel-ai, placetel.de/placetel-ai-preise, placetel.de/placetel-ai-funktionen, placetel.de/placetel-ai-integrationen, placetel.de/ratgeber/ki-telefonassistent

5

IONOS AI phone assistant: inexpensive entry for few calls and a flat rate

The hosting provider IONOS SE from Montabaur aims its AI phone assistant at small businesses and the self-employed. By its own account IONOS acts as a reseller, with a subcontractor delivering the technical service.

Billing is per call: Flex is €39 a month with 30 calls, then €0.49 per call. Flex Pro is €69 with 100 calls and adds appointment booking with a calendar connection. All-Flat Advanced is €99 and includes all calls. Prices include VAT, a new phone number is included, and the contract can be cancelled monthly.

Price
Flex €39 incl. 30 calls, then €0.49 per call. Flex Pro €69 incl. 100 calls, then €0.39. All-Flat Advanced €99, all calls included. Prices incl. VAT, phone number included.
Trial
“1 month free” as a limited-time offer, cancel monthly. There is a test number to call before you buy.
Data protection
States 100% GDPR compliance, and its help pages say data is processed within the EU. The product page says nothing on ISO 27001 or the EU AI Act.
Features
Call answering around the clock, transfer via a request manager, summary by email, up to 14 voices. Appointment booking from Flex Pro, website widget on the flat rate.
Integrations
Calendars: Google, Outlook, Cal.com and Calendly. Via a REST API and Make or n8n also systems such as HubSpot, Salesforce and Zendesk. A total is not published.
Setup
Self-service, under 15 minutes according to IONOS. The assistant learns from your website.

Strength: The price at small volume: €39 including VAT and a phone number, plus a flat rate at €99 with no cost per call.

Best for: Very small businesses and the self-employed with few calls and simple needs

Sources: ionos.de/momentum/ki-telefonassistent, ionos.de/hilfe/ki/einrichtung/ki-telefonassistent-schritt-fuer-schritt-einrichten/, ionos.de/hilfe/ki/einrichtung/ki-telefonassistent-datenschutz-und-datenverarbeitung-im-ueberblick/, ionos.de/hilfe/ki/einrichtung/ki-telefonassistent-api-integrationen-einrichten/

6

Doctolib (Aaron.ai): phone assistant for practices that run on Doctolib

Aaron.ai was one of the first phone assistants for medical practices. Today aaron.ai redirects to Doctolib, which states that Aaron.ai is now part of Doctolib. The AI phone assistant is a component of the Doctolib packages and books straight into the Doctolib calendar without a separate interface.

There is no stand-alone price. For general practitioners Doctolib lists the patient management package at €229 a month per practitioner, including VAT on an annual subscription. The same package without the phone assistant is €139 according to the pricing page. One-off installation and training fees start at €399.

Price
Patient management package €229 a month per practitioner (general practitioners), €139 without the phone assistant. Incl. VAT, annual subscription. Installation and training from €399 one-off.
Trial
No self-service trial; you start with a consultation call. Promotions for existing customers apply within an annual subscription.
Data protection
GDPR-compliant on servers in Germany and France. Doctolib lists ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and the C5 type 2 catalogue.
Features
Recognises patients via the patient record, books, moves and cancels appointments, files requests as an AI summary, detects emergencies by keywords.
Integrations
Directly in the Doctolib calendar, without a separate interface. Doctolib does not name connections to other practice software.
Setup
Sales-led with personal training. Doctolib states 2 hours for setup and training.

Strength: Depth inside its own system: the assistant knows the patient record and the calendar the practice already works in.

Best for: Medical and therapy practices that already use Doctolib or plan to

Sources: info.doctolib.de/aaron/, info.doctolib.de/ki-telefonassistent/, info.doctolib.de/preis/, doctolib.de/gesundheit/datenschutz-und-datensicherheit/

7

Parloa: platform for large contact centres

Parloa GmbH from Berlin calls its product an AI agent management platform for contact centres. Its audience is enterprises with their own contact centre, such as insurers, retail, travel, financial services and energy providers. Parloa is on this list because the name comes up in almost every comparison, but it addresses a different buyer than the other providers.

Parloa publishes no prices; the way in is a demo. Its trust centre lists ISO 27001, SOC 2 type 2, PCI DSS and HIPAA among others. It connects to contact centre and CRM systems such as Genesys, Avaya, Five9, Salesforce and SAP.

Price
Not published. There is no pricing page; the way in is “book a demo”.
Trial
None. Term and cancellation are not published.
Data protection
The trust centre lists ISO 27001, SOC 2 type 1 and type 2, PCI DSS, HIPAA, GDPR, EU AI Act and DORA. No hosting location is stated.
Features
Agents for phone, messaging and chat, a studio with simulations, evaluations and versioning, identity verification, routing and real-time translation.
Integrations
Avaya, Five9, Genesys, Microsoft Dynamics, Nice, Salesforce, ServiceNow, SAP, Twilio, Verint and Zendesk, plus REST APIs and MCP.
Setup
A project with the sales team. Parloa speaks of going live within a few weeks.

Strength: Enterprise depth: the broadest published set of certifications on this list and native connections to the major contact centre systems.

Best for: Enterprises with their own contact centre and a project budget

Sources: parloa.com/de/, parloa.com/de/plattform/, parloa.com/de/plattform/integrationen/, parloa.com/de/kontaktiere-uns/, trust.parloa.com/

8

Synthflow: voice AI platform with more than 200 integrations, now enterprise only

Synthflow is run by AgentFlow AI GmbH in Berlin. The platform covers inbound and outbound calls, has a no-code designer and states more than 65 million calls a month in over 30 countries.

Many comparisons still list Synthflow with usage-based plans. On the day we checked, the pricing page showed a single plan: enterprise contracts start at $30,000 a year. According to the documentation the earlier Pro, Growth and Agency plans are no longer available for new subscriptions. That takes Synthflow off the table for small businesses, and keeps it a serious option for large outbound and call centre projects.

Price
One plan: “Enterprise contracts start at $30,000 annually.” Minute prices and included volume are not published; billing follows an individual contract according to the docs.
Trial
Entry via demo and sales. A standard term is not published.
Data protection
Selectable EU cluster with storage and processing in the EU; the choice is permanent. The trust centre lists SOC 2 type 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS.
Features
Inbound and outbound calls, appointment booking, transfer, lead qualification, SMS follow-ups, voice, chat and SMS from one platform. German is supported.
Integrations
More than 200, including HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho, Pipedrive, Google Calendar, Twilio, Five9, Genesys, 3CX, Zapier, Make and n8n.
Setup
No-code designer, but rollout runs with Synthflow's engineers, in weeks according to the provider.

Strength: Breadth: the largest integration list in this comparison and mature outbound features.

Best for: Call centres, BPOs and large outbound projects

Sources: synthflow.ai/de, synthflow.ai/pricing, docs.synthflow.ai/customer-region, docs.synthflow.ai/cuncurrency-calling-limits, security.synthflow.ai/, docs.synthflow.ai/imprint

03

Provider comparison

The five self-service providers with public prices, point by point. For the detail on a single provider, open its head-to-head comparison below.

elunos.aiFonioVITASPlacetelIONOS
Market & compliance
LanguagesWhat the provider states about conversation languages.German and Englishmore than 60 languagesGerman, 12 languages as add-onmore than 80 languagesnumber not published
Hosting locationWhere call data is processed and stored.Frankfurt, GermanyNuremberg, GermanyGermanynot publishedEU
EU AI ActWhether the provider addresses it on its pages.not publishednot published
Product
Inbound callingAgent answers incoming calls autonomously.
Outbound callingAgent places calls itself, e.g. callbacks.from Professionalfrom Teamnot publishedfrom Professionalnot published
Concurrent calls1 to 20 by plan1 (Solo), 3 (Team)hundreds, says VITASunlimitednot published
Voice + chatWhatsApp priced separatelyChatbot as add-onWhatsApp and live chat as add-onWebsite widget on flat rate
No-code setupLaunch without engineering.
Commercials
Billingelunos.ai: one allowance of minutes for every channel (phone, web widget, WhatsApp). A text conversation counts as five minutes.Minute bundles, all channelsMinute bundlesPer conversationMinute bundles plus numberPer call or flat rate
TrialNone, 30-day money-backTrial, 30-day refund30-day trial10 days, 50 minutes1 month free

Sources are each provider's own public product, pricing and help pages, retrieved on 18 September 2026. “Not published” means the provider does not state it there; it does not mean the product lacks it. Figures may have changed since, and the providers, not we, are the authority on their own products.

04

What matters when you choose

Four questions that decide more than the monthly price.

How is it billed?

Minutes, conversations and calls are three different units. A business with many short calls does well on minute pricing, one with few long calls on a price per call. Run your own numbers, and check whether a price is net or gross and whether a phone number costs extra.

Where does the data live?

Phone calls carry names, requests and often health or client data. Ask for the actual server location, the list of subprocessors and a data processing agreement. A provider that publishes these saves you the question.

Does the agent reach your systems?

An agent that only emails notes takes the pickup off your hands, but not the work after it. Check whether your calendar and practice, law firm or trades software connect directly, and whether integrations are part of the plan or need an add-on.

How do you get in, and out again?

A trial or a money-back guarantee shows more in a week than any demo, as long as you keep an eye on the deadline. Look at term and notice period too: monthly cancellation and a 24-month commitment sit side by side on this list.

How this comparison was made

On 18 September 2026 we read the public product, pricing, security and help pages of every provider. Under each profile you will find the pages the statements come from. We did not use reviews, forums or third-party claims.

elunos.ai is our own product, which is why it is first. The rest of the order is not a points ranking but follows closeness to the typical buyer: first the providers for small and mid-sized businesses, then the specialist for medical practices, and the enterprise platforms last.

Prices and features change. If you work for one of the providers named here and a statement is no longer right, write to us via the contact form. We will correct it.

Comparison FAQ

An AI phone agent is software that answers calls on its own, understands the request in natural language and handles it directly: answering questions, booking appointments, taking details or transferring to the right person. Unlike voicemail it holds a conversation, and unlike a phone menu it needs no key presses.

That depends on the business. elunos.ai is built for small and mid-sized businesses that want to start without risk and connect their industry software. Fonio and Placetel offer low prices per minute in fixed bundles, Placetel with unlimited parallel calls on top. IONOS is inexpensive for businesses with few calls. VITAS is tailored to healthcare, the Doctolib assistant to practices on Doctolib. Parloa and Synthflow are platforms for large contact centres.

Among others elunos.ai, Fonio, VITAS, Placetel AI, the IONOS AI phone assistant, the Doctolib phone assistant (formerly Aaron.ai), Parloa and Synthflow. The first five can be set up by yourself and have public prices. Doctolib, Parloa and Synthflow are sold through sales teams.

With the self-service providers, in four steps: create an account, give the agent knowledge (website, documents, frequent questions), define what it may do (book appointments, transfer, take details), and forward your own number to it. At elunos.ai this works in a visual editor, without code, starting from a template for your industry.

On the day we checked, published entry plans ranged from €39 to €119 a month on monthly billing: IONOS €39 including VAT with 30 calls, VITAS €49 plus €0.28 per conversation, Placetel €79 with 750 minutes plus €9 for the phone number, elunos.ai €119 with 1,000 minutes and Fonio €119 with 1,000 minutes. Every elunos.ai plan comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Doctolib, Parloa and Synthflow state no stand-alone price or sell annual contracts only.

Look at the things that decide whether a project succeeds: data protection and hosting location, how natural the voice sounds in your language, whether the agent can both take and place calls, how pricing scales with usage, and how much engineering work setup requires. Cheaper per minute rarely matters if onboarding takes months.

Under the DSGVO, where call data is processed and stored is a real compliance question. elunos.ai hosts in Frankfurt, Germany, and is built with the EU AI Act in mind, which makes the data-protection conversation with customers and legal teams simpler.

A plan delivers voice minutes that count on every channel, whether the conversation runs on the phone, in the web widget or on WhatsApp. You don't manage separate minute budgets per channel. Every plan includes one channel of your choice, every further channel costs the same flat amount, and a text conversation counts as five minutes from the same allowance.

From each provider's own public product, pricing and help pages, read on the date stated under the table. Where a provider does not publish something, the cell says “not published” rather than guessing, because an absent statement is not the same as an absent feature. If you are comparing seriously, ask the provider directly and hold us to the same standard.

What your agent handles

Ready for AI phone agents that truly work?

Start right away or test the software in a live demo. 30-day money-back guarantee, no agency, no code.